European Confederation of Germanic nations

København post 1943
Belgian Waffen-SS volunteers
The Waffen-SS cultivated contracts with influential persons in many foreign countries, in preparation for the time when these nations would unite with Germany into a Nordic union. To the Waffen-SS, the related “brother” nations were: Denmark, Flemish Belgium (Flanders), Great Britain, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland. During the war, Waloon Belgium was given Germanic status and Finland became an “honorary Germanic” nation due to its unique ethnic origin. Men (and often women nurses) from all of these counties served with the Waffen-SS during World War II, and their story is complex and interesting, not least because it is often told simplistically and inaccurately. Credit: Marc Rikmenspoel, Waffen-SS Encyclopedia. Left image: In 1940 the Waffen-SS established a recruiting office in Copenhagen, Denmark. Of 13,000 volunteers, the Waffen-SS was able to select 7,000 of the best. Approximately 3,500 of them were killed in action. Those who volunteered were sent for training in Austria before they were included in Wiking and later in 11.SS-Freiwilligen-Panzergrenadier-Division Nordland. Public domain. Right image: a Flemish ceremony marking the departure of Volunteers to the Waffen-SS. Source: WCFHR. Fair use.

No comments:

Post a Comment